The new Basement Jaxx album is coming this August

Felix and Simon dropped the first tastes of their new material over the past two months, starting with the oddball Carnival-esque samba beast Mermaid of Salinas and closely followed by the jacking, acidic house mover Unicorn (that’s just begging for a rework by Breach). And now the veteran UK duo has revealed that we’ll get their full 13-track LP Junto on August 25, a good five years since their last full-length Scars.

It’s been quite a wait – the first hints of the new album appeared back in 2011, and they started dropping new material in live shows and DJ sets as early as July 2012 (indeed, you can hear a few of the new tracks sprinkled through their recent Ministry of Sound set, below).

Basement Jaxx have a big summer lined up, with a DJ residency in Ibiza and festival slots with the full touring act across Europe. No news yet on when they’ll next be in Australia, so the closest you’ll come is pre-ordering a copy of ‘Junta’ on iTunes (and if you do pre-order it, you’ll get free copies of Unicorn and Mermaid of Salinas thrown in to tide you over). Wrap your ears around their latest hypercolour house work – and the full Junto tracklist – below.

Junto tracklist

1. Intro

2. Power To the People

3. Unicorn

4. Never Say Never

5. We Are Not Alone

6. What’s The News

7. Summer Dem

8. Buffalo

9. Rock This Road

10. Sneakin’ Toronto

11. Something About You

12. Mermaid of Salinas

13. Love Is At Your Side