The inthemix Awards return for 2013!

Last year marked 10 years of the inthemix awards and to celebrate the milestone event, we made some big changes to the ITM institution.

As well as classing up the proceedings with a sit-down dinner in Sydney to celebrate the last decade of Australian dance music, for the first time we handed the voting of some of our awards categories over to a panel of industry leaders. It was a great year for the annual event, but this year’s edition is set to be even bigger and better – yes, we’re excited to announce that it’s time to gear up for the 2013 inthemix awards.

This year we’ve brought the whole thing forward a month so as of today, registration for the 2013 awards is open. That means if you’re a DJ, club night or festival and you want to be a contender in this year’s awards, you’ll need to check that you’re registered in our database over here. Then on Saturday June 1, voting will open to the public.

So what’s the deal with this year’s awards? Again, we’re splitting the voting between the public and industry. As ever, the National Top 50 (including the coveted #1 spot) will be publically voted, as will the Most Popular Club, National Festival, Stand-Alone Festival/Event and International DJ categories. Best Track/Remix, Most Influential Person, Best Live Act, Breakthrough Artist and Best Album, however, will all be industry-voted categories. This year, we’ve got Rdio and Moshtix on-board as sponsors and as ever, we’ll be celebrating the awards with a club tour – more details on that soon.

As for the big reveal? Awards night is set for July 11, after voting closes on July 1. 2012 saw The Stafford Brothers hold onto the #1 spot for the second year running, a position that’s previously been snagged by local legends the Aston Shuffle, Tydi, Kid Kenobi and the late, great Ajax. To kick off the road to deciding this year’s #1, head over to the registration page now.

inthemix awards 2013 dates:

April 29 – Registration open

June 1 – Voting open

July 1 – Voting closes

July 11 – Results announced