Sven Vath goes large on ‘Sound of the 13th Season’

All is (relatively) quiet again in Ibiza, with another season of hazy memories coming to a close earlier this month. One of the island’s biggest parties for 2012 was once again Sven Vath’s takeover of Amnesia each Monday for Cocoon Heroes, with a rotating cast of guests including Cassy, Ricardo Villalobos, Loco Dice and Raresh. True to tradition, the main man has now announced a mix compilation to remember the summer by: Sound of the 13th Season, due for release on November 12.

On this outing, Vath has dedicated the first disc to some tough strains of techno thanks to Ben Sims, Planetary Assault Systems and Silent Servant, while disc two takes a deeper tact courtesy of Roman Flugel, Lawrence, Rhadoo, Four Tet and more. “People are screaming for techno again,” Vath told inthemix last year. “There were so many wannabe house sounds and labels copying a sound, and only a few felt like strong releases. With techno, I have a feeling there’s good things going on again.”

While it’s all done at Amnesia for another year, Cocoon Heroes is on the move, with an all-nighter at Manchester’s Warehouse Project, followed by Sao Paulo, Brazil, Creamfields Buenos Aires, Montreal and many more stops right into the New Year. March 2013 sees the travelling roadshow arrive in Australia for Future Music Festival, with Vath joined by Richie Hawtin, Ricardo Villalobos, Magda and Seth Troxler.

CD One

01. Terranova – Question Mark feat. Thomas Hoffding (Adam Port Remix)

02. wAFF – Jo Johnson

03. WK7 – Do It Yourself

04. Margot – Liuff Settanta

05. Tuff City Kids – SFS

06. Octave One – The Greater Good (P.A.S. Remix)

07. Ben Sims – Straight from Bolivia

08. Sam Paganini – Prisma

09. Sawlin – Datamen Working

10. Planetary Assault Systems – Black Tea

11. Exercise One – Top Score (Stop Thinking!)

12. Silent Servant – Mad Youth

13. Ray Kajioka – Thrill

CD Two

01. Makam – Images

02. Romanthony – The Wanderer (Dixon Edit)

03. &ME – Everlesss

04. Julien Bracht – Grace

05. Alejandro Mosso – Cashmere

06. Lawrence – Etoile Du Midi

07. Rhadoo – Geemac

08. Roman Flügel – Cookie Dust

09. Four Tet – Ocoras

10. Uner – Sol

11. Gathaspar – She’s Not From Here

12. Soy Mustafa – The Return of the Anunnaki (John Tejada Remix)