Session 91 feat. Marco V

This fortnight we’ve got we’ll be talking to tech trance icon Marco V, who was due in early November for a national tour. Just as we were going to press with the podcast we heard the devastating news he’s been forced to cancel, but there’s a silver lining as we’ll be bringing you one of his massive tunes. We’ve also got new music from John Digweed’s Bedrock label, a tune from James Murphy’s DFA Records as well as Boy 8-Bit, Armin van Buuren and more.

Feature artist

Marco V

Simulated 2010 (Jonas Stenberg Remix)

We’ve already seen Marco V in the country twice this year for Sensation and Trance Energy, and he had a third visit planned for November. But fans were devastated this week with the news the tour has been cancelled. We had Marco on the phone not ago, when he still had every intention of making it over here in November.

Also on this podcast

Dappled Cities – The Price (King Unique Remix)

First up though, we’re opening with something a little different in the form of a track from Aussie indie act Dappled Cities, who have just released their new album ‘Zounds’ to much critical acclaim. Why are Dappled Cities making an appearance on the ITM podcast? Because we’ve got a rather excellent remix from King Unique of their tune ‘The Price’, taken from the new album..

Jamie Lloyd – Fire Flies

‘Fire Flies’ comes from local producer and vocalist extraordinaire Jamie Lloyd, who’s just released his new album ‘Beware of The Light’ with the Future Classic crew. Jamie is loved for his ability to bring a soulful edge to his electronic music, and he’s also renowned as a live performer. You’ll be able to catch him launching his new album across the country from the end of this month.

Armin Van Buuren – Never Say Never (Myon & Shane 54 remix)

We’re pitching things up a little with a track from Dutch trance leader Armin van Buuren. Armin was voted our favourite international act in this year’s Sony inthemix50, so he’s a clear favourite with Australian audiences. He’s also up for a third consecutive win as the world #1 in this year’s DJ Mag poll, and with voting now closed it won’t be long before we find out if he’s held onto the title. Here we’ve got his tune ‘Never Say Never’, masterfully reworked by Myon & Shane54.

Alan Fitzpatrick – Reflections

John Digweed’s latest mix compilation showcasing the sounds of his Bedrock record label has just been released. The CD is called ‘Bedrock Eleven’, and the tune on the podcast is ‘Reflections’ from Alan Fitzpatrick. Digweed has just been announced as one of the DJ headliners for next year’s Future Music Festival. He’s still a master at what he does, so we’re keenly awaiting his return.

Still Going – Untitled Love

New York City’s DFA Records has practically become a household name in dance music since setting up shop in 2001, and this year they’ve been perfectly positioned to take full advantage in the explosion of nu-disco around the world. Label leader James Murphy will be here over New Years to tour under the LCD Soundsystem banner, and to whet your whistle we’ve got a super-smooth disco tune from ‘Still Going’, who feature on the label.

Boy 8-Bit – Baltic Pine

Wrapping things up, we’ll hear a track from Boy 8-Bit who’s in the country at the moment on a national tour. He made his Australian debut last year as part of the Parklife lineup, and at the moment he’s making mayhem in our clubs alongside Ed Banger member Fedz.