Meet Pleasure State, Hot Creations’ new supergroup

Back in February, MK returned to the Essential Mix for the first time in nearly twenty years to deliver two hours of classic house and expert mixing. At the time, the remix king vaguely touched on a new collaborative project, but since then, all has been quiet on that particular front…until now.

Pleasure State, the supergroup consisting of MK, Lee Foss and singer Anabel Englund (of Reverse Skydiving fame), are about to make their official debut on record label Hot Creations, home to co-heads and Hot Natured duo Foss and Jamie Jones. The three originally came together in 2012, when Foss and MK teamed up for the Electricity EP on which Englund made her label debut.

The forthcoming EP, titled Ghost In The System, is scheduled for release on December 1, and has two original tracks – the lead track being our first taste from that Essential Mix so many months ago – plus a Carl Craig remix of Electricity’s title track. According to the label, the record pulls influence from the likes of “Prince, Massive Attack, The Cure, Alicia Keys and Outkast with a strong undercurrent of undeniable bass and drama.”

While we wait for that to surface, check out Pleasure State’s unofficial debut with Electricity below, or check out MK’s Essential Mix to hear a sneak peek of the title track (shortly before the 90-minute mark) ahead of its release. MK will be heading our way – and no doubt bringing some brand new Pleasure State material with him – for the Stereosonic tour later this month. [Article photo via DJ Times]