Listen: Nicolas Jaar’s Darkside album is here

Darkside, Nicolas Jaar’s side project with guitarist Dave Harrington, was first formed in 2011 after years of touring with one another; the pair releasing their first EP together in 2011 on Jaar’s now-defunct Clown & Sunset label. Earlier this year, they did Sydney Festival and created an internet storm when they remixed Daft Punk’s long-awaited Random Access Memories in its entirety under the Daftside moniker. Now, the pair have completed their first joint full-length album, titled Psychic, set for release on October 4 via Jaar’s new label, Other People, and Modular.

For now, Psychic is available to stream in full on the Other People website. Listeners with a subscription to the site also have the option to download the album, which hosts a total of eight (long) tracks. Two years in the making, Psychic is an experiential feat, as Jaar attempts to move away from the spacey, minimalistic sound of his 2011 album, Space is Only Noise, into – well, no signature sound at all. In their own words, the album aims to “explore rock’s cosmic outer edges through the immersive, body-moving framework of 21st-century house and techno.” Stream it now and make your own mind.

‘Psychic’ tracklist

1. Golden Arrow

2. Sitra

3. Heart

4. Paper Trails

5. The Only Shrine I’ve Seen

6. Freak, Go Home

7. Greek Light

8. Metatron