Listen: DFA’s The Juan MacLean aces his Essential Mix

You can always count on The Juan MacLean to put together a classy mix, and he’s just done it again for Pete Tong’s long-running radio show. The DFA trailblazer turned in a two-hour session for the Essential Mix, and it’s certainly a departure from the previous edition from Armin van Buuren. For his stint, The Juan MacLean has brought together analogue house and disco with some well-timed curveballs as well. He put the mix together in one day, in-between his whirlwind DJ schedule, on two turntables and a pair of CDJs. “I just tried to be spontaneous and have fun doing it, which I hope translates to the finished mix,” he says.

As the Radio 1 spiel puts it: “The Juan MacLean, real name John MacLean, is a former post-hardcore guitarist turned electronic music producer. He spent several years out of the music business after quitting his band Six Finger Satellite, before the band’s live sound engineer James Murphy persuaded him to make dance music for his new label DFA. He’s since released two albums on DFA and is set to drop his third later this year.

“This Essential Mix features new material from The Juan MacLean, as well as new music from Bicep, Simian Mobile Disco, PBR Streetgang and Murk.”


Hawkwind – Space Ritual [EMI]

Jimmy Edgar – Shout [Hotflush]

Arc 88 & Craig Chino – Ardent [Terrain]

Murk – Be Mine (Murk Remix) [Murk]

The Juan MacLean – You Are My Destiny [DFA]

Burnski – Lost In The Zoo (Martinez Brothers’ Bronx Zoo Mix) [Saved]

Sasse – Treat Me [Moodmusic]

MightyHor – Walk In Stomp [Skrufix]

MANIK – House Cut 1 [Ovum]

Mat.Joe – Showtime [Off]

PBR Streetgang – C. With No Name (feat. Danielle Moore) [Futureboogie]

Walker & Royce – Trippin’ (feat. Javi) [Moda Black]

Shiny Objects – Higher Ground (Maxxi Soundsystem Remix) (feat. Michael Marshall) [Smoke n Mirrors]

Bicep & Simian Mobile Disco – Sacrifice [Delicacies]

Disclosure – You And Me (Bicep Remix) [Universal Island Records]

Sand People – Brandy Station [Sand People]

Vanilla Ace – Hypnotic [Toolroom]

LaRosa – Something Strange (Filsonik Remix) [Not Bad]

Simon Baker – Stop Gap [Last Night On Earth]

Leftwing & Kody – Let Go [Alive Recordings]

John Dimas – State Of Mind [Dame]

The Juan Maclean – Feel Like Movin’ [DFA]

Waze & Odyssey – I Want You [Throne Of Blood]

Urulu – Reason With Me [Exploited]

Cale Parks – N1 (Paradis Contours Mix) [HAKT]