Kaytranada brings the jams for his BBC Radio 1 Residency debut

BBC Radio 1 brought in the New Year with a new first for the Essential Mix, and they’ve kept the freshness coming with a new crop of tastemakers for the BBCR1 Residency program.

Following previous instalments from Skream and Hannah Wants, Kaytranada is the latest to make his hosting debut. Taking a well-suited slot after oddball beatmaker Flying Lotus, the Montreal-based producer and DJ has delivered an hour’s worth of “beats, edits and jams to make the party shake,” as described by the BBC website, and it’s available to hear in full below.

The 60 minutes comes filled with an eclectic and head nod-heavy mix of genres such as R&B, pop, disco, funk and hip-hop featuring the likes of Les Sins, Pomo, Michael Jackson, Musiq Soulchild, Todd Terje, Timbaland, Big Daddy Kane, Freddie Joachim and more. A closer look at the tracklist also reveals some unreleased Kaytranada material thrown into the mix along with another original of his, Jupiter.

Start the week right and check out Kaytranada’s BBC Radio 1 Residency debut and full tracklist below, or head on over to the BBC website.

Kaytranada – BBC Radio 1s Residency 2015-01-16 by Core News Uploads on Mixcloud


The Sylvers – New Horizons [Capitol]

Island And Holiday – Living [Five / Speed]

Les Sins – Bother [Company]

Kenlo Craqnuques – Woogie On [Bandcamp]

Patrice Rushen – Haven’t You Heard [Elektra]

Taylor McFerrin – Invisible / Visible [Ninjatune]

Mtume – You Are My Sunshine [Epic]

The Internet – Girl [Unreleased]

Ms. Dynamite – Dy-Na-Ni-Tee [Polydor]

Kaytranada – Untitled [Unreleased]

Eman X Vlooper – Mantra [Disques 7ií¨me Ciel]

Kaytranada – Jupiter [Free Download]

Kaytranada – Untitled [Unreleased]

Tuxedo – Do It [Stones Throw]

The Gene Dunlap Band – Take My Love [Capitol]

Gilberto Gil – Coraí§oes A Mil [Som Livr / Warner]

Pomo – Cherry Funk [HW&W]

Marcos Valle – Wanda Vidal [Odeon / Light In The Attic]

The System – You Are In My System [Mirage / Funky Town Grooves]

MAM – Crushed Ice [Fina]

Feist – One Evening [Polydor]

Michael Jackson – Pretty Young Thing [Forthcoming]

Pharrell Williams – Number One (Instrumental) [Unreleased]

Timbaland – Miscommunication [Blackground / Interscope]

The Roots – Look Into Your Eyes [Unreleased]

Lucy Pearl – Don’t Mess With My Man [Virgin / EMI]

Musiq Soulchild – Soulstar [Def Soul]

Todd Terje – Preben Goes To Acapulco [Redeye]

Big Daddy Kane – Smooth Operator [Cold Chillin’ / Reprise / Warner]

Slum Village – Fall In Love (Remix / Instrumental) [Unreleased]

Vlooper – Little Queen [Music Is My Sanctuary]

Freddie Joachim – Waves (Instrumental) [Unreleased]