Hear Australia’s Sonny Fodera bring the house on his Essential Mix debut

House head Sonny Fodera has come a long way from the club circuit in his hometown of Adelaide. After years of hustling on the road, the DJ and producer stepped up for his Essential Mix debut on BBC Radio 1 over the weekend. He’s the first Australian to get the prestigious call-up since Flume in October 2015.

As host Pete Tong puts it in his introduction, Fodera has “well and truly broken into the house music elite this year”. Curtis Jones, better known to dancefloors as Green Velvet and Cajmere, was an early supporter of Fodera’s talent, inviting him into the Cajual Records family. Fodera released two albums on Cajual, and has since carved out a prolific output on stalwart UK house label Defected. To kick off 2016, he released his Sonny Fodera In The House compilation on Defected, which showcased several of his recent productions.

“I wanted to make [the Essential Mix] like one of my club sets,” Fodera explains at the top of the show. “Even though I did record it in my studio, I still got that vibe happening.” While he works in several of his own productions and edits over the two hours, the tracklist also includes cuts from the likes of Patrick Topping, Chris Lorenzo, Claude VonStroke and Darius Syrossian.

Take a listen to Sonny Fodera’s Essential Mix over at the BBC Radio 1 website. Check out the tracklist below.

Sonny Fodera’s Essential Mix tracklist:

Sonny Fodera – Every Second [Frequently Flying]
Chris Lorenzo – Sleep Talk (Nic Perry Edit) (feat. Alex Mills) [Azuli]
Claude VonStroke – Who’s Afraid Of Detroit (2016 Remix) [Dirtybird]
Vitalli & Romaniv – Everything is Black (L.O.O.P Remix) [Brazuka Music]
Holly Woods – Ass Out (Woody’s Assid VIP) [Dirtybird]
Josh Butler – Need Me [Rejected]
Sidney Charles – House Is All I Need [Moon Harbour Recordings]
Rampa – Everything (Sonny Fodera Remix) [Defected]
Darius Syrossian – FunkFlex [Rimming Records]
Sonny Fodera – Invisible (U Won’t C Me) [Defected]
Section Boyz – Lock Arff (Sonny Fodera Remix) [Unreleased]
Kollektiv Turmstrasse – Sorry I Am Late (Summer 2016 version) [Diynamic/FFRR]
Offaiah – Trouble (Club Mix) [Positiva]
Walker – I.T.B [Dirtybird]
Patrick Topping – Howk [Hot Creations]
Luca Debonaire – Wanna Say Yes (Club Mix) vs Let’s Go Dancing [Tiger/Turbo]
Ennio – Go Insane [CUFF]
DJ S.K.T – Livewire [Toolroom]
Sonny Fodera – You & I (feat. Janai) [Defected]
Sonny Fodera – No Reason [Cajual Records]
Lux-Groove – Ride Low [Dirtybird]
Sonny Fodera – We Work It [Visionquest]
Shiba San – Give It To Me [Dirtybird]
Groove Armada – Love Sweet Sound (Kölsch Remix) [Moda Black]
Raffa FL – How We Do [Criminal Hype]
Todd Terje – Snooze 4 Love (Dixon Remix) [Olsen Records]
Hot Since 82 – Yourself [Knee Deep In Sound]
Pirupa – Bring Me Back [Snatch]
Gorge – It’s Time [Mobilee Records]
Milk & Sugar – My Lovin (Mat.Joe Remix) (feat. Barbara Tucker) [Milk & Sugar]
Rudimental – Will For Love (Sonny Fodera Remix) (feat. Will Heard) [Asylum]