Guy J to mix the next ‘Balance Presents’ compilation

A favourite amongst lovers of warm, melodic and emotive music, Guy J has been one of Bedrock’s finest discoveries of the last decade. Growing up listening to John Digweed’s Northern Exposure mixes and his Transitions radio show, Guy J learnt about the importance of thoughtful programming and track selection early on, and those lessons have stuck with him throughout his career.

It therefore seems wise of Balance Music to hand over the reins for the second instalment of Balance Presents to the Israeli producer, whose approach to DJing and producing is tailor-made for the mix-CD format. Taking a similar approach to Sasha on his Involver series, Guy J has compiled tracks from both well-known and up-and-coming producers and filtered them through his own unique lens, creating a final product that is part artist album, part DJ mix.

In Guy’s own words, “The idea of my mix for Balance is not to give just a regular mix of 80 minutes but to create, write and produce it. I wanted to make it more special; to give the people who listen to it something that will be worth the time and creativity.” Consider us very interested.

Featuring tracks from the likes of Pezzner, Robert Babicz, Henry Saiz and Way Out West, fans can evidently expect Guy J’s Balance Presents to be loaded with beautiful harmonies, engulfing basslines and captivating programming. Balance Presents Guy J is released on July 12 through Balance Music.


1. DJ Yellow & Flowers and Sea Creatures – No One Get Left Behind (Guy J Remix)

2. Roger Martinez & Secret Cinema – Menthol Raga (Guy J remix)

3. Henry Saiz featuring Fab Morvan – Santa Fe (Guy J Remix)

4. APM 001 – Migrants (Radio Slave Accapella) (Guy J Edit)

5. Juan Deminicis – Once upon a time (Guy J remix)

6. Navar – Phases Of Grief (Guy J remix)

7. Pavel Petrov – Fever (Pezzner mix)/DJ T Ft. Cari Golden – City Life (Accapella) (Guy J Edit)

8. Lanoiraude – Waitin’ (Charles Webster mix) (Guy J Edit)

9. Dactilar – Day One (Guy J remix)

10. Echomen – Perpetual (Guy J remix)

11. Guy Mantzur – I’m your country (Guy J remix)

12. WOW – Killa (Guy J Remix)

13. Robert Babicz – Duba (Guy J Remix)

View Comments