Global Underground turns 20 with a massive 50-track compilation

Back in 1996, Global Underground released its first mix, recorded in Tel Aviv by hard house trailblazer Tony De Vit. From there, the label and compilation series became a flag-bearer for the exploding progressive house movement, releasing defining mixes from the likes of Nick Warren, Sasha, John Digweed, Darren Emerson and Deep Dish.

Well, time certainly flies. 2016 marks Global Underground’s 20-year anniversary, and the label is celebrating with a major compilation. TWENTY includes 50 significant tracks from the past two decades (including 15 exclusives) that’ll make ravers of a certain age feel very nostalgic.

The tracklist spans various evolutions of house and breakbeat, with untouchable productions and remixes from the likes of Dubfire vs. Oliver Huntemann, Superpitcher, Moby, Gus Gus, Dave Seaman, Hybrid and Sasha. While the first two CDs focus on the history, CD three is an unmixed collection of tracks from “some of the world’s best breakthrough artists”.

Depending on how much of a Global Underground super-fan you are, you can either buy TWENTY on CD or digital download, or instead shell out for the three-part vinyl package. The collector’s edition includes a a 112-page hardcover book of photos taken by Dean Belcher, including the iconic shot of Sasha we’ve used as the article image above.

TWENTY is out October 28 through Global Underground. Check out the tracklist below.

CD One

1. Moby – Pale Horses (Apparat Remix)
2. Yousef – Come Home (Sasha Matterhorn Intro Remix)
3. Simian Mobile Disco – Hustler
4. Joris Voorn – Ringo (Rework)
5. Superpitcher – Heroin
6. Guy Gerber – Belly Dancing
7. Darren Emerson – Crash Jack (Original) / (Manuel De La Mare Remix)
8. Dino Lenny – I Feel Stereo
9. Henrik Schwarz / Âme / Dixon feat Derrick L. Carter – Where We At (Version 2)
10. Audion – Mouth To Mouth (Scuba’s Orbital 93 Mix)
11. Dubfire vs Oliver Huntemann – Diablo
12. Timo Maas presents Mad Dogs – Better Make Room (James Holden Remix)
13. Jim Rivers – Stone (Henry Saiz Remix)
14. Nic Fanciulli – Materia (Robert Hood Remix)
15. Pig & Dan – Eiffel Nights
16. Finger Fest Inc. – Autoporno (D.Ramirez Remix)
17. Radio Slave – My Bleep (Roman Flügel Remix)
18. Oliver Huntemann – 37°
19. Booka Shade – Charlotte (Booka’s No Pain No Gain Mix)
20. UNKLE – Heavy Drug (Surrender Sounds Mix)

CD Two

1. Kris Menace feat. Fred Falke – Fairlight
2. Sound 5 – The Hacienda Must Be Re:Built (Tim Davison & Nicko Izzo Remix)
03. Elekfantz – Diggin’ On You (Solomun Remix)
04. Hybrid – Theme From Wide Angle (Dark Skies Remix)
05. Lostep – Burma (Sasha’s Invol2ver Dub)
06. Vector 13 – Rise
07. Adam Freeland – Silverlake Pills (Gui Boratto Remix)
08. Dave Seaman – Gobbledygook (Jori Hulkkonen Remix)
09. Trafik – Find Me (Guy J Dub)
10. Bluefish – One (Bluefish Pitched Back Mix)
11. Dune – Boomerang (Quivver’s Boom Q Dub)
12. Roland Klinkenberg feat. DJ Remy – Mexico Can Wait (Gabriel Ananda Remix)
13. Anil Chawla & Dale Anderson – Leftorium (Petar Dundov Remix)
14. Silver City – Shiver (Ewan Pearson Bari Girl Remix)
15. Situation 2wo – Way2tite (Redanka’s Reversion)
16. Greens Keepers feat. Colette – Keep It Down (Radio Slave Dub)
17. Gus Gus – Crossfade (Maceo Plex Remix)
18. Carlo Dall’Anese & Gui Boratto – Beautiful Song
19. Bushwacka! – Healer (House Mix)
20. Sébastien Tellier – La Ritournelle

CD Three – The Future

01. Denney feat. Kayleigh Stephenson – Another Day
02. Habischman – Hoodoo
03. Just Her – Follow You Down
04. Dale Middleton – Disappearing Act
05. Arturo Hevia – Raices
06. FOTN – Celeste
07. Third Son – Europa
08. Several Definitions – Glint
09. Jaap Ligthart & Alice Rose – Lost In Love
10. Ańii – Rusty