Get lost in Caribou’s marvellous new Essential Mix

Caribou’s brand new record dropped a fortnight ago and if you’re part of Dan Snaith’s loyal army of fans, you won’t need us to tell you that it’s one of the albums of the year. Our Love’s destined to stay on high rotation for a while yet, but if you’re hankering for Caribou of a different flavour, BBC Radio 1 has just the thing.

This weekend, the production mastermind stepped up for an Essential Mix – his first ever, if we’re not mistaken – and you can get stuck into it right now. “When I recorded this mix, everything was getting ready for my new album to come out and getting things ready for my live show,” he introduced. “But being away on tour with the band is going to mean that I’m not doing as much DJing over the months to come, so I guess this mix is an attempt to knit together those two sides of my life.”

That means album cuts like Mars and Can’t Do Without You are nestled in with the likes of Daft Punk, Armand van Helden and even Lil Wayne. “There’s tracks in here I’ve been playing in my DJ sets for the last little while, there’s some of the music from my new album and there’s sections inspired by playing live with the band,” Snaith said. “Maybe that’s why the music on this mix is so diverse, but for people who’ve seen me DJ before, that won’t be a surprise.”

“I hope it captures the music around me in my life right now. So if I hear it again years from now it will remind me right where I was, right at this moment.” Listen now on the BBC Radio 1 website, or below.


01. Caribou – Mars

02. Les Sins – Past

03. Mike Dehnert – Umlaut 2 (Levon Vincent Ny Basement Mix)

04. Daphni – Carry On

05. Boddika & Joy Orbison – ID

06. The Beginning Of The End – Funky Nassau (KH Edit)

07. Jack Master – Bang The Box

08. Oppenheimer Analysis – The Devil’s Dancers

09. ButRic – Up [SEI ES DRUM]

10. Armand Van Helden – Witch Doktor (Dark Ages Remix) [STRICTLY]

11. Head High – Hex Pad

12. Daft Punk – Revolution 909 [VIRGIN]

13. First Choice – Let No Man Put Asunder (Baby, Baby, Baby, Aww Shucks) (Ron Hardy Edit)

14. Caribou – Our Love [CITY SLANG]

15. Head High – Megatrap (Mix Mix)

16. Sunbelt – Spin It [EURO DANCE RECORDS]

17. Head High – Megatrap (4F Mix)

18. James Brown – I’m Satisfied (Underdog Edit)

19. Arnie Love & The Lovettes – We’ve Had Enough [NUMERO GROUP]

20. Mr. G & G Flame – Pulsez

21. Silver Apples – Oscillations (Daphni Edit)

22. Daphni – Tin

23. Robbie Tronco – Runway (As A House) [HENRY STREET]

24. Caribou – Can’t Do Without You [CITY SLANG]

25. ButRic – Up [SEI ES DRUM]

26. Pearson Sound – Rubber Tree

27. Lil Wayne feat. Drake – I’m Single (Instrumental)

28. Les Sins – Call

29. Crash Course In Science – Jump Over Barrels (Daphni Edit)

30. Daft Punk – Make Love

31. Aphex Twin – VBS.Redlof.B.

32. Caribou – Julia Brightly [CITY SLANG]

33. Anthony Naples – Miles

34. Dorothy Ashby – Essence of Sapphire [ATLANTIC]

35. Gloria Ann Taylor – Love Is A Hurting Thing

36. Danny Hunt – What’s Happening to Our Love Affair [DYNAMITE RECORDS]

37. Marvin Gaye – Time To Get It Together (Daphni Edit)

38. Caribou – Your Love Will Set You Free [CITY SLANG]

39. The Zombies – This Will Be Our Year