Electronic Music Conference reveals first round of names for 2013

From December 2-4, the second annual Electronic Music Conference will hit Carriageworks in Sydney for three days of panels, round table discussions, production masterclasses, parties and more. After announcing the EMC 2013 dates earlier this year, now comes the time to reveal the first round of speakers to sign on for Asia-Pacific’s leading dance music industry event.

Among the names already locked in to speak at this year’s EMC are trance stalwart Ferry Corsten, dance music veteran Tommie Sunshine, homegrown star Tommy Trash, US bass trio Krewella and HARD Events head Gary Richards, AKA Destructo. Trance fans will find themselves very well catered to: Giuseppe Ottaviani, Jochen Miller, W&W, Aly & Fila, John O’Callaghan, MaRLo, Solarstone and Heatbeat will all be part of the event.

They’ll be joined by Launchpad whiz M4SONIC, three-time inthemix Awards winners Stafford Brothers, local scene expert Grant Smilie and triple j’s Nina Las Vegas. Then there’s a rollcall of the biggest names in the industry: heavyweights from Twitter, Beatport, Billboard, Stereosonic, Future Entertainment, Big Day Out, ARIA, Sony, Armada and more will all be with us at Carriageworks – scroll down for the full list of names. But that’s only the beginning for EMC, with many more artist and industry names to be announced over the coming months.

So what can you look forward to? The theme for EMC 2013 is ‘Asia in Focus’, with a particular emphasis on Australia’s role as one of the leading electronic dance music forces in the Asia-Pacific region. At our new home of Carriageworks, the Electronic Music Conference will kick off with an opening cocktail party on Monday December 2. Over December 3 and 4, delegates will have access to a schedule of panels, round-table discussions, a full-time production masterclass area, a dedicated networking stream and a bar and restaurant open round-the-clock. Then, of course, there’s the parties.

To get face to face with the biggest names in dance music, grab your EMC ticket through the Electronic Music Conference website now. Earlybird passes are on sale now for $329, with a special student rate set at $299. Stay tuned for the full EMC program, which will be announced in the coming weeks.

EMC 2013 first round speakers announcement

Ferry Corsten, artist

Matthew Adell, CEO Beatport

Tommie Sunshine, artist

Richard Slatter, General Manager, Twitter Music

Tommy Trash, artist

Krewella, artists

Dimitri de Wit, CEO, Twenty4Seven Management

Gary Richards, Hard LA / artist

Jon Hanlon, EDM Director, Sony Music

Giuseppe Ottaviani, artist

Michael Cohen, Control Management Group

Stafford Brothers, artists

Kerri Mason, inthemix USA & Billboard

MaRLo, artist

Dan Rosen, CEO, ARIA

W&W, artists

Nina Las Vegas, artist / triple j

Neil Ackland, CEO, Sound Alliance

Richie McNeill, SFX TOTEM / Stereosonic

Paula van der Waerden, Twenty4Seven Management

John Curtin, Stereosonic

Frank Cotela, One Love

Solarstone, artist

Adam Zammit, CEO Big Day Out

Heatbeat, artist

Bryan Kearney, artist

Grant Smillie, artist / Neon Records

Sander Bouma, A&R manager at Armada Music

Brett Robinson, Future Entertainment

Cris Hearn, Primary UK

Ben Persky, Mixed Management

M4SONIC, artist

Tim Duggan, Content Director, Sound Alliance

Jump The Gun aka Matt Hykus, artist

Jasper Wagensman, David Lewis Productions

Jochen Miller, artist

Jason Ayoubi, Future Entertainment

Sunnery James & Ryan Marciano, artists

Aly and Fila, artists

Simon Coyle, SFX Touring

Jack Tregoning, Global Editor, inthemix

Duane Buriani-Gennai, Konkrete Agency

John O’Callaghan, artist

+ Many more to be announced