Diplo – Decent Work for Decent Pay

Hands off, ladies (and gents, if that’s your thing). Diplo is mine. Allll mine. And by mine, I mean my future husband. And if you’ve heard his latest compilation Decent Work For Decent Pay, you will understand why my heart is this way inclined.

The latest release from the mixtape king is an imaginative collection of remixes of some pretty cool, quirky tracks, along with some of Diplo’s very own produced tracks. Included are left-of-centre gems like his rerubs of Samim’s Heater, Claude von Stroke’s The Whistler, and Solta O Frango by Bonde do Role (who, as it happens, are attached to Diplo’s own label Mad Decent).

What tugs at my musical heartstrings most about this album is his remixing skills. I’ve gotta say, Diplo is one of those few remixers who knows that when a track is good, it’s good for a reason, and knows better than to totally annihilate it beyond recognition during the remixing process. Let’s take his remix of M.I.A’s Paper Planes, for example. Everyone knows that the melody is the best part of that track, and rather than messing with the best (cause the best don’t mess), he simply swaps the female vocals for a male rap. And while it’s not a groundbreaking change, it’s effective enough to give the track a fresher sound and perhaps extend its shelf life for just a little longer.

Though he’s already a busy boy with his remixing, producing, and working on his own record label, Diplo has another feather he can stick in his cap – his Heaps Decent initiative, and this is how the track Smash a Kangaroo came about. As a part of the initiative, he headed into remote areas of Australia to give indigenous kids a chance to produce and mix their own electronic music. Parts of Smash a Kangaroo were recorded in a NSW jail, and it’s a cute, tongue-in-cheek track. C’mon, with lines like “Go on, have a Kangarizzle”, you can’t help but love it. I can’t think of many Australian artists willing to do the same thing (can you imagine the egos of Pnau inside a remote Aboriginal jail?), so major snaps to Diplo.

Decent Work For Decent Pay really is a collection of tracks that definitely reflect Diplo as an electronic artist who has hit the very heights of ‘coolness’. Creative, imaginative and just a bit quirky, and the album is a nice change to some of the music that has been surfacing lately. And a social conscience too? Warms the cockles of your musical heart.

Check out the tracklisting…

01. Diplo feat. Sandra Melody – Newsflash

02. M.I.A. – Paper Planes (Diplo Remix)

03. Spank Rock – Put That Pussy On Me (Diplo Tonite Remix)

04. Kano – Reload It

05. Diplo – 200

06. Bloc Party – Where Is Home? (Diplo Remix)

07. CSS – Let’s Make Love… (Diplo Remix)

08. Bonde Do Role – Solta O Frango

09. Samim – Heater (Diplo Extended Edit)

10. Hot Chip – Shake a Fist (Diplo Remix)

11. Diplo – Way More Brazil

12. Black Lips – Veni Vidi Vici (Diplo Remix)

13. Claude VonStroke – The Whistlerz (Diplo Remix)

14. Diplo – Smash a Kangaroo

15. Peter Bjorn & John – Young Folks (Diplo Youngest Folks Remix)

And have a look out this interview with Diplo while on tour with Parklife last year…

View Comments