Deadmau5 drops a minimix full of the music on his next album

It’s only been two months since Deadmau5 dropped his last LP W:/2016ALBUM/, but dance music’s serial antagoniser is gearing up to do it all again this week.

On Friday, February 24 U.S. time (that’s early Saturday morning in Australia), Joel Zimmerman will share stuff i used to do, a remastered 20-track compilation of music he made between 1997 and 2008. Now ahead of the release, Joel’s label Mau5trap has shared a six-minute minimix of the tracks on the compilation, which includes vintage mau5 classics like Bored of Canada.

Deadmau5 has described stuff i used to do as his “little pet project,” so hopefully he feels better about it than his last body of work – last year Zimmerman admitted that he wasn’t exactly happy with W:/2016ALBUM/. “i don’t even like it. it was like… so fucking rushed / slapped together,” he told fans on Twitter. “this is seriously a love/hate thing happening here. But, a thing, nonetheless. and it’s good to be doing things.”

Hear the mix and see the stuff i used to do tracklist below.

‘stuff i used to do’ tracklist:

1. The big difference
2. Messages from nowhere
3. Digitol
4. Screen door
5. Squid
6. Sometimes i fail
7. 50 something cats
8. Charlie can’t dance
9. Bored of Canada
10. Creep (Original Version)
11. My opinion
12. HaxPigMeow
13. Obsidian
14. Obilistik
15. Long walk off a short pie
16. Support
17. Superlover
18. Try again
19. Creep (2013 alt version)
20. Unspecial Effects

Katie Cunningham is the Editor of inthemix. She is on Twitter.