Busy P lays it down to inthemix: “I don’t want Ed Banger to be a part of the EDM circus”

Following a five year break between compilations, powerhouse French imprint Ed Banger will this month deliver Ed Rec Vol. X, a primer for fans as the label celebrates its 10th anniversary and prepares for for its next era.

Boasting 14 new tunes from its esteemed French dance ranks, Ed Rec head honcho Pedro Winter, aka Busy P, called up inthemix to dish on the release. Speaking of the direction his Ed Banger artists have taken for the anticipated Ed Rec Vol. X comp, Winter explained he briefed the likes of Breakbot, Cassius, Boston Bun and Mr Oizo with providing him the “music for tomorrow”.

“This is why the compilation sounds less noisy and less banging,” he told inthemix. “We’ve been doing that since 2007 when Justice was at its peak of crazy, funky, noisy sound. Today there is a caricature of this banging sound – there are too many fake Justice and Boys Noize out there. It’s a natural evolution and we’ve all grown up a bit since Ed Banger started.”

Chief among the label head’s concerns with the current crop of dance and electro stars is the rise of EDM, with Winter going as far as to draw a line in the figurative dancefloor between the EDM scene and his Ed Banger stable.

“I don’t want Ed Banger to be a part of the EDM circus. I’m not a part of it. When I see Avicii and all those headliner DJs I can listen to their music once and know that I don’t want to be a part of it and this is where we mark our difference; we try not to be on the same festival and we want to do something different. I know that Justice could be doing all the headline festivals right next to Avicii and David Guetta but I don’t want that and I don’t think that is where we should be. I would rather do smaller gigs than play for 50,000 people with bad taste.” Stay tuned for the full interview with Ed Banger’s main man on inthemix very soon.

Ed Rec Vol. X tracklist:

1 Mr Oizo – “Intro X”

2 Krazy Baldhead – “My Soul is Like a Tree”

3 Breakbot featuring Pacific! – “The Beach”

4 Busy P – “Still Busy”

5 Mr Flash – “Reckless”

6 Justice – “Brianvision MMXIII”

7 Cassius – “Sunchild”

8 Mr Oizo – “Secam”

9 So Me – “Typical Footprints”

10 DSL – “In Your House”

11 Mickey Moonlight – “Transition”

12 Feadz – “Coleslaw 43”

13 Boston Bun – “Grinded”

14 SebastiAn – “Moi (Demo Version)”