And the winner of 2015’s ‘Best Essential Mix’ is…

Techno don Ben Klock has taken out the coveted plaudit of Radio 1’s Best Essential Mix of 2015, for his debut effort back in October last year.

Radio 1 announced Klock as the winner over the weekend, placing his “raw live club mix” ahead of fellow shortlisted artists DJ EZ, Maceo Plex, Nero and Tale of Us. 2015 was an especially strong year for the iconic weekly dance show, with other highlights including the debuts of major stars like Flume, Black Coffee and Floating Points, while coveted names like Jamie xx, Four Tet, Eric Prydz and Matthew Herbert also turned in mixes.

Klock’s heady, banging two-hour mix takes in 36 tracks from the likes of Spencer Parker, Mathew Jonson, Planetary Assault Systems and Cajmere, with a focus – as Klock puts it in the introduction – on “being spontaneous, going with the flow and playing whatever feels right for me in the moment.” Hit play below to relive the epic mix, recorded live at Munich’s MMA. [Article image by Daily Laurel]


Klaus Wiese – Tibetische Klangschalen
Josh Wink – Full Late Night
Edit Select – Hi Line Extraction (Mike Parker Version)
Antonio Ruscito – Immagini Dai Sogni (Edit Select Remix)
Jeff Rushin – Coda
Pastaboys – Deep Musique (feat. Osunlade) (Trus’me Spritz Mix)
Jeff Rushin – Enigma
Juxta Position – Sweat Box
Jeroen Search – Untitled
Museum of Plate – Septem F
DJ Dozia – Pop Culture (Ambivalent’s Culture Mix)
Spencer Parker – Rights For Men (Adriana Lopez Mix)
Spencer Parker – Rights For Men
Shinedoe – Inside Your Mind
韓国MBC放送 – Untitled Two
Spencer Parker – Silly Club Song No. 2
Yotam Avni – This Is How
Planetary Assault Systems – Twelve
Mike Dunn – Dance You Mutha (Ju Edit)
Orgue Electronique – Our House (feat. Robert Owen) (DJ TLR Remix)
Cajmere – Wet Dream (feat. Derrick Carter) (Ju Edit)
Drew Sky – Pressure Point
Inner City – Ahnonghay (Carl Craig Remix)
Fanon Flowers – From East To West Part 1
Orlando Voorn – In Da Jungle (Chocolate Puma Remix)
Woody McBride – All Night (Techno Mix)
Dax J – The Invisible Man
[unknown] – B1
Dirty Basscore – Mbass
Mikael Jonasson – Quatar (Audio Injection Remix)
Mathew Jonson – Marionette (The Beginning)Z
Fuse – Substance Abuse (Barem Remix)
Cassegrain & Tin Man – Window Window
Mom – MOM
Envoy – Dark Manoeuvres
Klaus Wiese – Tibetische Klangschalen 1