A stack of great dance acts just got nominated for this year’s ARIA Awards

A rollcall of Australia’s highest-achieving dance names have all been recognised in this year’s ARIA Awards nominations, announced this morning in Sydney. While a range of local electronic heroes have been given the nod, it’s Future Classic’s Chet Faker who’s leading the charge with a total of nine nominations in 2014.

Chet’s up for the coveted Best Album gong for his record Built on Glass, where he’ll face off against the likes of Dan Sultan, Sia and Jessica Mauboy. He’s also nominated for Best Dance Release alongside Flume for their joint single Drop the Game, with fellow local favourites Peking Duk, RUFUS, The Presets and Nicky Night Time all recognised in the same category.

Electronic Music Conference-showcased name The Kite String Tangle is up for Breakthrough Artist of the Year (he just has to beat out Iggy Azalea to get it), Joel Fletcher’s been nominated for Song of the Year with Swing, while RUFUS are also up for Best Group and the publicly voted award of Best Australian Live Act, alongside The Presets and Tame Impala. Avicii’s even been given the nod as one of the ten acts up for Best International Artist.

Take in the full list of nominees below. The ARIA Award winners will be announced on November 26 at Sydney’s Star casino.

2014 ARIA Awards nominations

Album of the Year

Chet Faker – Built On Glass

Dan Sultan – Blackbird

Jessica Mauboy – Beautiful

Sheppard – Bombs Away

Sia – 1000 Forms of Fear

Best Female Artist


Iggy Azalea

Jessica Mauboy

Kasey Chambers


Best Group

5 Seconds Of Summer

Hilltop Hoods



Violent Soho

Best Hard Rock/Heavy Metal album

DZ Deathrays – Black Rat

High Tension – Death Beat

Shihad – FVEY

Sleepmakeswaves – Love Of Cartography

The Amity Affliction – Let the Ocean Take Me

Best Independent Release

Chet Faker – Built On Glass

Dan Sultan – Blackbird

Sheppard – Bombs Away

Vance Joy – Mess Is Mine

Violent Soho – Saramona Said

Best Male Artist

Chet Faker

Dan Sultan

Geoffrey Gurrumul Yunupingu

Guy Sebastian

Vance Joy

Best Pop Release

5 Seconds Of Summer – 5 Seconds Of Summer

Andy Bull – Sea Of Approval

Justice Crew – Que Sera

Sheppard – Bombs Away

Sia – 1000 Forms of Fear

Best Rock Album

Angus & Julia Stone – Angus & Julia Stone

Ball Park Music – Puddinghead

Dan Sultan – Blackbird

Jimmy Barnes – 30:30 Hindsight

Kingswood – Microscopic Wars

Best Urban Album

360 – Utopia

Hilltop Hoods – Walking Under Stars

Iggy Azalea – The New Classic

Illy – Cinematic

Thundamentals – So We Can Remember

Breakthrough Artist

5 Seconds Of Summer

Andy Bull

Chet Faker

Iggy Azalea

The Kite String Tangle

Best Adult Contemporary Album

Gossling – Harvest Of Gold

Kate Miller – Heidke – O Vertigo!

Neil Finn & Paul Kelly – Goin’ Your Way

Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds – Live From KCRW

Tina Arena – Reset

Best Blues and Roots album

Harry Hookey – Misdiagnosed

John Butler Trio – Flesh & Blood

Russell Morris – Van Diemen’s Land

The Audreys – ‘Til My Tears Roll Away

The Bamboos – Fever In The Road

Best Children’s Album

Alex Papps – Let’s Put The Beat In Our Feet

Ali McGregor – Ali McGregor’s Jazzamatazz

Jay Laga’aia – Christmas at Jay’s Place

Sam Moran – Play Along With Sam: We’re Gonna Dance!

The Wiggles – Apples & Bananas

Best Comedy Release

Buddy Goode – It’s A Buddy Goode Christmas

Franky Walnut – The Franky Walnut Reflective Drink Coaster

Ja’mie – Learning To Be Me

Ronny Chieng – The Ron Way

The Beards – The Beard Album

Best Country Album

Adam Brand – My Side Of The Street

Emma Swift – Emma Swift

Kasey Chambers – Bittersweet

Keith Urban

The McClymonts – Here’s To You & I

Best Dance Release

Flume & Chet Faker – Drop The Game

Nicky Night Time – Everybody Together

Peking Duk feat. Nicole Millar – High

RUFUS – Sundream

The Presets – No Fun

Publicly Voted Awards

Best Australian live act

Boy & Bear

Dan Sultan

John Butler Trio

Keith Urban

Melbourne SKA Orchestra


Tame Impala

The Preatures

The Presets

Violent Soho

Best international artist




Ed Sheeran


Jason Derulo

Katy Perry


One Direction

Pharrell Williams

Best Video

Ben Young for John Butler Trio – Only One

Charlie Ford for Courtney Barnett – Avant Gardener

Dan Graetz for Violent Soho – Covered In Chrome

Sia Furler and Daniel Askill for Sia – Chandelier

Lawrence Lim for Jessica Mauboy – Never Be The Same

Lawrence Lim for Justice Crew – Que Sera

Renny Wijeyamohan for Busby Marou – My Second Mistake

Christian J Henrich & Nicholas Rabone for Bluejuice – SOS

Toby & Pete for Chet Faker – Talk Is Cheap

Toby Morris for Sheppard – Geronimo

Song of the Year

5 Seconds of Summer – She Looks So Perfect

Guy Sebastian – Like A Drum

Havana Brown – Warrior

Iggy Azalea feat. Charli XCX – Fancy

Joel Fletcher feat. Savage – Swing

Justice Crew – Que Sera

Nathaniel – You

Sheppard – Geronimo

Sia – Chandelier

Taylor Henderson – Borrow My Heart

Artisan Awards

Engineer of the Year

Winner: Eric J Dubowsky for Chet Faker – Built On Glass

Producer of the Year

Winner: Nicholas Murphy for Chet Faker – Built On Glass

Best Cover Art

Winner: Tin & Ed for Chet Faker – Built On Glass